Monday, November 4, 2013

Private Server WOW Culture VS Regular WOW Server Culture.

I recently started playing on European based private World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King server. I had become increasingly disappointed with the changes made in "real wow" so I had decided to go back to my favorite point in the game WOTLK.

I knew going into it that the game would be different, there are quests, dungeons and raids bugged in unrepairable ways. And various other little issues like NPC's falling through the earth or things procing at random times. I had expected a few different things considering there would be so many different nationalities playing on the server but I didn't quite expect all the game culture differences for lack of a better term. It was almost as though I'd watch the product of a different evolution of the same game.

A few changes that stuck out right away where: Druids are refered to always as "dudu", Paladins never go by the abbreviation I am used to "paly" but instead go by "pala". Healers are not shortened to heals but to heles(I'm told that's the Dutch spelling) When people are building groups for random dungeons, they don't call them "randoms heroics" they refer to it as RDF HC(the full abbreviation for random dungeon finder and heroic) . In traditional WOW we refer to dungeons as regular and heroics. On this private server it's normal and heroics. I'm not joking when I say no one understood what I meant when I asked if they where talking about regular.

Another thing I have found very interesting well playing Horde side is that unlike tradition WOW servers  3/4 of Horde side is not Blood Elves. You will frequently see, undead, orcs, trolls and tauren. I have even quite frequently found the female orcs and trolls! In traditional WOW you usually only see someone on a non-BE if it is something like a druid or shaman which they can't be.

Another thing I've found interesting on this private server is that caps locks are used in normal conversation. Not in a way intended to be rude, but they are simply used, because I'm guessing these players have a limited knowledge of English.

In closing I would like to say how enjoyable I've found this server to be. It's very interesting to watch the different types of fails players. I would also love to see Blizzard do there own servers locked to different expansions I would defiantly re-subscribe for that.


Saturday, September 28, 2013

Sith are they really pure evil?

This is quite possibly biased to my opinion but if you want to see my take on all this please read. :3
THAT WAS $32 WELL SPENT DOLLARS AT DISNEYLAND AFTER STAR TOURS!


As some of you may know, I play Sith in SWTOR and have always been a bigger fan of the sith then the jedi. People tend to take this as that I like the "evil" guys.
Although I do admit there is a lot of bad in the sith I don't see how the sith code is the center of pure evil and at length the whole Sith Emprie being pure evil. First let me show you what it says.
  • Peace is a lie, there is only passion.
  • Through passion, I gain strength.
  • Through strength, I gain power.
  • Through power, I gain victory.
  • Through victory, my chains are broken.

Alright, that first one is just dumb, there is peace...and there always will be. Here have a gif for that stupidity.


But aside from that I'd say that's all pretty true stuff. Power and strength can be used for good or bad they are neutral items not evil. If you look at it, this is one extreme, the strength extreme. 


Now to the jedi code:
There is no emotion, there is peace.
There is no ignorance, there is knowledge.
There is no passion, there is serenity.
There is no chaos, there is harmony.
There is no death, there is the Force.

To start, there is emotion. There is ignorance, passion, chaos and death. Here is another gif for ya'll!


We all wish (in this fictional universe and in real life) for a world free of ignorance, chaos and death. It feels as though the Jedi are in denial by no means do they live by their code. Jedi seem quite passionate about certain things and ignorant of other things. But if we were all Jedi like they wanted we'd all be pretty boring as we can't be passionate about anything we must have serenity and show limited range of emotion.

Jedi pretend that there is no place for passion or strength when they very clearly use both through out the whole series. The jedi pretend to be on a mission of "balance" when really they are trying to enforce another extreme...the one I call the "peace" extreme. You can debate and say it's "better" but really isn't it better if you accept the middle of it all? No excess but the necessary balance for life to continue. The best of both the Sith and Jedi?

And that is what they call a Revanite my dear children and Revan is a total hottie who my flashpoint groups hate me for oogling over. 


In short I really don't thing the Sith or the Jedi are better then each other on there principles at least. Is the Galactic Republic probably better to is citizens? Yes, most defiantly. Is the whole Sith Empire the most evil thing ever to exists no and if it was supposed to it was put together very poorly. 

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Salt Lake Comic Con 2013

It's been almost two weeks since comic con and I am now finally getting around to writing about it. Bear with me if I ramble. I'm going to talk about it by days...

We left Wednesday and much to my excitement and surprise Debbie got to go with us! We drove up to Cedar City and spent the night. The next day we got up at 6(?) and drove to Salt Lake. We got our wristbands then found out stuff didn't start till much later for non-VIP so we walked around the Temple
grounds went through the church bookstore the name is escaping me right now.

Then we went back.

Thursday: 

 (oh and I wore my Jaeger shirt this day! My sister wore her Kaiju one :D)
- First we went to this Doctor Who panel with Simon Fisher-Becker (He plays the blue guy in doctor who)
It was really fun and Simon was halarious! Favorite thing he said was aimed at actors....he mentioned he filmed a lot for the first Harry Potter movie but almost all of it was tossed out. He said the point was always take a job no matter what.

~Next we went to a Lord of the Rings panel...I swear all of the people accept one didn't even LIKE LOTR!
Ended up walking out being really disappointed.  Went shopping and that stunk to, there was nothing interesting. It felt like a real disappointing day.

 ~So later I went with Benjamin to a Lou Ferringo (he played Hulk in the old TV series) panel. It was awesome, he was such a nice and sincere guy.
My favorite thing he said was that(despite having severe hearing loss) he never saw it as a disability. He saw it and had used it to push himself to become the actor he was.
Before that we went to this cool little thing on Cause- Play and it was doing charity stuff dressed up basically. Was really cool to see and inspirational.

 Also I SAW TECH PRIESTS! It was an adorable couple.

Friday:

 (Wore my Penal Legionary costume and my sister went as Lotara Sarrin. My other sisters went as: Radagast the Brown, a Dragonborn, and Annabeth from Percy Jackson)
~First thing was a Ray Park panel (He played Darth Maul).
We was very funny and cool, at the end he got all of the little kids to come up and taught them how to pose (it was really cute and funny.).
Favorite thing he said was that he didn't want to play the bad guy as often as he got those roles. Then he realized the bad guy got to interact more with the characters so he came to terms with it.

~I SAW A BLOOD RAVEN AND A LITTLE WOLF! (My sister is Lotara Sarrin...the Blonde in the picture.)




~ Shopping improved...
I got to meet this guy who I have followed for sometime who does really cool movie reviews there. I bought his book and talked with him he was really cool. A link to his stuff here: http://www.moviesformormons.com/

Also I put a "bounty" on two of my sisters. We went and met them and some Bounty Hunters took them to jail for two minutes.
Me and Debbie later got in for the last few minutes of a William Shatner interview it was pretty fun.
There where a ton of awesome cosplays if you wanna see them check out my DA gallery: http://msjedimaster.deviantart.com/gallery/

Saturday:

(I didn't dress up although Becky went as Lotara again.)
It was the most packed day. We had to wait over an hour and a half to get inside....line went down at least 3 or 4 blocks.

~Me and Eb went to a Power Rangers panel and they where just so cute with the kids it was fun. At the end they taught them all how to morph.

*Next we waited in line for the William Shatner panel..we where in line for an hour. It was pretty good he was an interesting guy who talked about how he really liked making documentaries now. I think I should see some of them.

 *Then we waited another hour for the Stan Lee panel, he was hilarious and a really fun guy. Most memorable thing he said was when he named "Mary Jane" (Spiderman) that and nicknamed her MJ he had no idea MJ was another name for marijuana. The joke was people though he was so hip or what not and he really had no idea what he'd done.

Went around the shops again...then finally went to the last panel.

Manu Bennet.*sigh*
Not only is he really good looking but he is a really down to earth performer.
He talked about how when his Mom and brother died his girlfriend told him to come with her and ballet dance. That was the start of his body building and dance work, he did it to move his emotions in a positive way and he also talked about how he tries to related in some way with all of his major roles.

He also mention as being Azog the White Orc he named his worg: Daisy...I did laugh really hard at that one.

The next day was a blurry drive home as I had a fever and a cold. Thankfully though I wasn't sick during the event. It was a blast and I look forward to it next year.




Sunday, August 18, 2013

SWTOR game review and Wattpad.

So I'm redoing my novella and posting it to Wattpad (I much prefer there reading settings.) Want to check it out? :D http://www.wattpad.com/20246940-royal-family-chapter-1#comments there are 3 chapters our so far.

Ok now on to Star Wars: The Old Republic review.


I never considered myself as a die hard SW fan, I did enjoy the movies but I really hated the after stuff so much in fact I wrote a whole book of what I wanted as a after ROTJ reality.

I had no real interest in playing the game but for shoots and giggles after watching my brother play and the game went F2P I started an account. No regrets at all...by the way I waited about a week to write this so it wasn't done with a spur of the moment emotions still going on.
(The two sided Red Lightsabre looking awesome. Actually it could be any color I wanted I'd just need to buy the color crystals)

(This...badass right here is why I  started Sith.)

Game play: 4.5/5
Unless you have a great PC it's a heavy game so lag is common. And there are little bugs frequently( IE. dead npc's still standing).


Storyline: 10/5
Each class has a DIFFERENT story, you also get to make a lot of decisions on your own (Kill someone or spare there lives. Kill a lot of people or take out there heavy cannons and force them to surrender that kinda thing). It really made it so you really could build an indvidual character that was something completely it's own. Also having companions that you build relationships with and can even marry added a lot of personal flair to the game as an MMO.

I played a Sith Inquisitor (to 50 and various other alts to the mid of the story.), the story was truly epic and I also enjoyed that although the Sith are supposed to be the "bad guys" it's shown that not all of them are mindless psycopaths and you are able to be either a psychopath, a normal person or a humanitarian or somewhere in between as you choose.

Traveling: 4/5
The day Alderaan is destroyed no one will cry those mountains suck. There are some areas in the game they made travel so painful I even need to rate it on this review...mostly Alderaan really though.

Graphics: 5/5
Excellent, it was really reminiscent of stuff you see in the movies in my opinion.

Music: 4/5
Nothing really exceptional and most of the themes you've heard in the movies. All I can say *spoiler warning* when you become a dark council member and you sit in that chair and you hear the theme play your just fist pumping.

Overall: 9/5
It was a really good game, if you like SW even a little I'd strongly suggest you play it. They did a lovely job of making me feel like, WOW! They can't possibly top that! And then they proceed to make it even better.

Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Diablo 3 Fan Fiction

My poor attempt at D3 fan fiction...here is the first bit I am back to art block.

~~~~~~~Caldeum, the jewel of the desert. Vaelynn looked out her window knowing that beyond the seeming endless barren desert was a magnificent city. If only she could live there instead of here.  She sighed as she rolled out of bed and dressed, then she set about cleaning the home she shared with her parents, three older brothers and two younger sisters. It was quite a task as bedding lay spread and torn in the kitchen and food and cooking pans where spread all over the house.

A gentle knock came to the door, Vaelynn smiled and wiped her hands clean before answering it. Outside the door stood her fiance, "Ralmen!" she hugged him and he smiled. Before she knew what was happening he was clawing at her clothing, trying. "Ralmen, stop it!" Vaelynn giggled and tried to take a step back, she hit a wall. There should not have been a wall there, it was only a few steps back from the door, then the haze began to clear around her. She wasn't in her home, and the creature before her was most certainly NOT her fiance.

Vaelynn was in a dirty and dark cellar, it looked like the one underneath the chapel only much filthier and all sacredness torn from it. She felt hot breath on her face and she looked up, the creature that met her eyes repulsed her so terribly she fought the urge to vomit.  From waist up it had the body of a man, bellow that of a black snake. A demon.

"Come now, Vaelynn. This is for our Lord Belial he needs you to help me with this, lets not fight this time." The demon reached out to touch her, balling a fist she punched the creature as hard as she could. The demon moved only slightly her blow only hitting air and then slammed her back against the wall. He wasn't going to mess around anymore.

She closed her eyes, she had been through this before she realized. Many time this demon had fooled her looking like Ralmen, he had impregnated her. It only took a month for the spawn that would grow inside her to find it's way crawling out of her. This particular demon also had been the one responsible for the murder of her family, and personally adding her to the small group of females who had been deemed strong enough to birth the new breed of demon.

Vaelynn hadn't been in Jamvern when the attack had happened, she had been sent on a seven day ride across the desert to Caldeum for supplies. There had been hushed tales of raids on villages, cultist sacrifices but no one wanted to believe the stories of the darkness returning.~~~~~

Friday, March 29, 2013

Pointless Stuff?

My legs are burning and my head is pounding (I literally had the patient I sat with scream/cry for almost the whole shift...). 1/3 Complete. Working as a CNA is always lovely. Only two more 12's then I'm off!

On some cool/happier note, I got to go into LA and Hollywood on Wednesday!
It was fun, I got to see the La Brea Tar Pits (I believe its the world's largest find of fossils in the world...or at least it's up there).

Then I went to see the "Oz the great and powerful" at the  El Capitan Theater. The movie was awwwful, but the theater was adorable and a lot of fun! Then we just walked around for a bit and I found Tennessee Ernie Ford's star! In case you don't know he is a really good old old country singer.  His voice is so deep and beautiful, I just love his music (Yeah, my Dad playing him a lot growing up I'm sure had nothing to do with my love of his music now). For a taste of his music check this out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bm_PQUWmZ1s or http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTW_o4l05OI&feature=share&list=PLBBA07B405D3D1B35

If you don't like it, please don't comment about how you hate it. I don't want to feel the need to kill you...

Finally, we went to the Disney Soda Fountain, where the seven of us split a "Mickey's Masterpiece" Which is eight scoops of Ice Cream, and for seven people who hadn't had anything to eat since breakfast we eat it with in ten minutes.

Over all, it was a great trip! I am looking forward to going to Cambria (it's in California it is beautiful...so beautiful, it will be my spring break trip) it will be a lot of fun. <3

Also I am about half way through the first season of Star Wars: The Clone Wars....goosh I love it. It's such fandom gush, the stuff I like in Star Wars. I really love the time you get to spend with the clones, that are such great characters.


OK finally, I'm thinking of opening an Etsy store to make codex/rulebook/book covers to sell for a little extra money (maybe some other little things more 40k themed as well).
What do you think? Would that be something you'd consider getting?

Sunday, March 10, 2013

KQ 6 Review

OK I don't know where to start. I am in a sea of feelings over this game. I will also openly admit as this was a game I played as a child I am biased.

I recall vividly my older siblings playing this, I was 6 or 7 and it enchanted me then. Due to my age I only played a little bit of it and then the CD broke/disappeared and that was the end of it until I found it and bought it on Steam recently. (I did play several years later through most of KQ7 but as I haven't played that one with the new steam purchases I'll leave it out of this.)

King's Quest 6 was released in 1992 and is the last King's Quest game that is pixelated. It was built for PC and to me is a classic.


Overall rating: 10/10


The story is simple to start, Prince Alexander of Daventry sets out to fine the Princess Cassima (who he rescued in a previous KQ game). He is shipwrecked on the Land of the Green Isles and there begins his adventure.

Game play: 9/10, There are a few issues with the game play but as a old single player game I think the interface was pretty easy to work with. Point is mostly taken because of walking being a little tricky sometimes.

Story: 10/10, I honestly cannot fault this games plot in the slightest. You'd think, "oh look another prince save princess game" well yes that's there. But did you know all the things he did to get there? Freak this dude is hardcore, he takes on a Minotaur to save someones daughter. He rescues an abused "Beauty" and thereby saves the "Beast" from his curse. He also goes to the Land of the Dead! And brings back his girlfriend's murdered parents from the dead by doing so much complicated crap! He also saves an entire kingdom from an evil dude. The plot is so full and thought out and with a traditional and enjoyable happy ending I call it a good day.

Graphics: 10/10 as far as pixel stuff goes it was great to me, they also use more I guess of normal animationishness on there cut scenes which there where plenty of. The amount of plot in this story is just perfect.

Music: 10/10 was simply perfect it set the mood of the scenes so very well.

The game is fairly complicated and you must save often. I also encourage the use of game guides unless you really enjoy a good challenge. If you miss something at the beginning only sometimes can you get it still. Other times you will have to go back to a previous save and get the item.

As far as single player games go, this is defiantly one of my favorite ones.

Monday, March 4, 2013

A different kind of tired.

I am tired of being female. I have no doubt I was meant to be one and am proud of being female...also I find it most enjoyable(Loki, Rogal Dorn, Faramir would be a lot less appealing to me if I was a male).

I'm tired of being treated as an object, in the last year I was harassed by 5 guys because I was a female and they could. Two where at my job and three where online. I tried to search myself and see if I had done anything to provoke this. It turned out I had, I wasn't a bitch and treated all people politely.

Growing up, I was encouraged by my parents if possible to be a stay at home mom. But it was never done in a way that belittled me or made me feel less important (as it was mandatory I finished college and lived life a bit before that). Heck, my Dad had us girls outside doing the work of boys since as far back as I can remember. It was said like this, "Men provide financially. Women, provide emotionally." And sometimes my parents will even admit, (my Mom became a nurse when I was 3...I can't remember her as a stay at home mom. Although she says it broke her heart to leave me crying at home.) both have to work to make the ends meet.

It never even entered my mind that women where treated as less then equal or could possibly less. I mean we are all people?

I really hope I can raise my future children (ya know Garviel Scott and Susan Valkyrie) to never treat a women as less then a man. I think if they could have be raised like me so that they won't even THINK of there gender as something important and instead will see there value as person and all people's value equally.





Saturday, February 23, 2013

Math won't be done, until this is up.

My math homework needs to be done, but I am just not feeling it. So instead I'm writing this! Math is actually not to bad...but that isn't encouraging me to spend a lovely Saturday studying. Just a quick rundown of the week.

On Wednesday we got snow! (Which for the desert of  California is really rare.) A whole 3 or 4 inches and we got a snow day out of it and several good snowball fights. :)

After months of trying...I ditched almost all of my current story for Bianca~Daughter of Corax. I realized why I was having trouble, I wanted to make things end better. So much better then they do in the real series and it was destroying not only my writing, but the characters. It has to be dark and harsh because that's what Warhammer 40k is.

So I decided to place my story on Isstvan 5 timeline in which Bianca, Jania and Jenieve survive the massacre and are on the run. It will fit more what I want to do and set up Jenieve~Daughter of Vulkan's story much better.

I also finished reading Angel Exterminatus, it was a brilliant book just great in so many ways. I really look forward to reading "The Betrayer" and just about every other heresy book that will be written. I guess I am an easily pleased reader when it comes to Horus Heresy, it takes a lot to actually annoy me.

So I'm trying to find another interesting book to read. Preferably, something light? But I'll take any suggestion.

To annoy you all, I'll leave you with my Angel Exterminatus review (Note: You'd understand my opening better if you had seen my other reviews on goodreads.):
    
Well the rest of the girls where obsessing over Martin Freeman or Aidan Turner...well we all know I was obsessing over Iron Warriors and their Primarch.

The story starts with Perturabo and Fulgrim, well actually Fulgrim convincing his brother to go help him to steal some Eldar weapons and some Isstvan survivors hell bent on making the traitors pay (Both parties with some help from filthy Eldar scum).

It was awesome! It was staged with many new characters and a lot of good old well remembered Emperor's Children acting like super freaks. The story was a tad hard to read at the begging (thanks to the EC being so nuts) the Iron Warriors where calling bs on the Emperor's Children from the start. The IW where very conflicted and interesting characters there where very interesting as was Perturabo. Gave a long awaited insight as to his nature. He is an interesting person who I of course (being the sucker I am) felt incredibly sorry for.

It was a great read Fabius had a lot of depressing crap he did ( I think GW started reading some of the awesome fan fiction out there and edited to be in their books.) I think more people should commit suicide when they know Fabius has them seriously? You are gonna let him use you as a toy for that long?