This post will be even more random than normal, so if you don't read this I understand. I will probably edit this rant tomorrow.
Recently, I read a discussion on facebook where a friend(who no offense is intended to in this post) was talking about the problems in Hollywood with sequels, prequels, and remakes of movies. And how it kills creativity.
This person had previously mentioned how good the recent Dark Knight (Batman remakes) was great and had also praised the new Daredevil TV series for its dark brutality and realism. So two remakes of a previously hashed out movie or movies and TV series is OK as long as it works with you? For me, the old Batman series was the best and means a lot to me.
Although, I do think there is a serious problem with not enough good-original-creative movies. But when the only responses Hollywood seems to have to this is either: Extreme violence/sex OR a sequel, prequel and remake. I will take the last one.
Why? Because in the end, the sequel, prequel or remake will leave me usually feeling happy or more hopeful.
I recognize everyone watches movies for different reasons, but for me I watch movies give me hope/ and make me excited for something. To give me something to keep going for. When the good guys win, it gives me hope that our world can get better. When not all of the good guys die, and bad guys turn good, it gives me hope that can happen for those within the situation we are in as a country now.
The part that makes me really sad, is almost every time I go see something: new, original or different. I end up regretting it, because typically the plot is terrible, acting is bad and there is more sex or extreme violence then necessary.
I will continue to attempt going out of my comfort zone from time to time...because there are a few gems out there. :)
That rant then kind of leads into the part two: The argument of "Star Wars is for "adults".
First: No, you don't have to read the post and now not canon Star Wars books to be a fan. You just have to like the movies. And it is fine to do both! Also, can guys stop acting like I am not a "real fan" because I don't think Disney buying Star Wars ruined it? Thank in advanced.
Second: Please don't try and pretend that all the star wars stuff is 100% adult only. Because 95% of it is family friendly. Although, I am sure it makes all the fanboys feel cooler to think of themselves with their own Slave Leia...that isn't the whole story!
It is kind of of sad lots of fans don't get she was a sex slave...and just go on about how hot she is.
Finally: No, one was bothered by all the other times lots of people are murdered in other movies and let their kids watch it. But somehow the prequels use of war and death is somehow different. It's not.
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Friday, January 2, 2015
The Hobbit Movies: Great Fan Fiction! And other thoughts.
So inspired by my sister Eb's much more eloquent reviews of The Hobbit movies I have decided to way in my two cents on the subject. Which will look terrible but why not.
Now this title may have scared you off, I am not comparing this enjoyable movie trilogy to smut fictions. I am comparing it to some of the awesome very canon appropriate fictions. This piece is a great representation of it.
(Honestly, I cried at the end don't judge me.)
To me The Hobbit movie trilogy is like. That, it is good and a great addon to Middle Earth but is it as great as what Tolkien did first? Nope, not by a long shot. Does that make it meaningless? No, it just means it can't be interpreted the same way. ALSO MEANS IT CANNOT BE COMPARED. oops did I shout right there? My bad.
So I plan to get the narrations of The Hobbit and the LOTR done by Rob Inglis (my sexy voiced narrator) and go through them all. Then I want to watch all 6 movies back to back.
So who is down for that???
That out of the way, I loved Mockingjay part 1, I hope part 2 ends up as good would make for a better movie then book I think. :3
Oh and WOD has been great thus far, even with a much better Alliance story(so I am told..haven't played an Alliance for it yet) but the Horde story is great. Yeah, there is still a ton of crap, but Blizzard is doing much but making some legit bad guys and awesome good guys. I have been having a lots of fun.
BTW ya'll should check out my youtube channel at some point: http://youtu.be/PtIRqdDpvLs
That link is actually to my latest video.
Now this title may have scared you off, I am not comparing this enjoyable movie trilogy to smut fictions. I am comparing it to some of the awesome very canon appropriate fictions. This piece is a great representation of it.
(Honestly, I cried at the end don't judge me.)
To me The Hobbit movie trilogy is like. That, it is good and a great addon to Middle Earth but is it as great as what Tolkien did first? Nope, not by a long shot. Does that make it meaningless? No, it just means it can't be interpreted the same way. ALSO MEANS IT CANNOT BE COMPARED. oops did I shout right there? My bad.
So I plan to get the narrations of The Hobbit and the LOTR done by Rob Inglis (my sexy voiced narrator) and go through them all. Then I want to watch all 6 movies back to back.
So who is down for that???
That out of the way, I loved Mockingjay part 1, I hope part 2 ends up as good would make for a better movie then book I think. :3
Oh and WOD has been great thus far, even with a much better Alliance story(so I am told..haven't played an Alliance for it yet) but the Horde story is great. Yeah, there is still a ton of crap, but Blizzard is doing much but making some legit bad guys and awesome good guys. I have been having a lots of fun.
BTW ya'll should check out my youtube channel at some point: http://youtu.be/PtIRqdDpvLs
That link is actually to my latest video.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
